As described in the feature description there are multiple use cases that require a full restore of a complete backup. This post will explain the options how to get this done.

Backups view

Navigate to the backup you want to restore.

Check the accessory assignments.
How to check backup accessory assignments

This guide is doing a complete test round. Starting with a complete setup, removing all its content and restoring it from the backup again.

Note:

This example setup only contains data that is accessible for 3rd party apps.
Please inform you about the 3rd party app limitations in the feature description.

In case your setup is not 100% 3rd party compatible there may be some warnings and explanations.

Reset setup

Pressing the full restore button will bring up this process view.

Normally all deletion steps are disabled and all others are enabled. Think twice before enabling these deletion steps. As the warning in the section footer tells you, this will delete data from your current setup.

For example:
Delete all rooms will delete all rooms that are present in your setup, not only those saved in that backup, which may be less.

By enabling all these steps the current setup will be reset. This will not remove your accessories, as they cannot be added back programmatically. They will be put in the standard room.

NOTE:
You do not have to run these steps to do a full restore!
This is done here to explain them.

Incomplete setup

Algorithms compare your current setup with the selected backup data.

After we have run the optional reset steps, the setup is emptied.
All content types report differences now.

You can use this view to identify every small difference. The symbols lead you the way to the single elements. A full restore can also be done manually by browsing through your setup and using the selective restore actions.
How to browse a backup and use selective restore

In this post we will use the restore process.

Restore steps (1/2)

The names of the steps are quite self explanatory.
One small detail is important though.

These steps restore the missing elements, they supplement your setup.
Elements that exist in your setup, but not within this backup, are not changed.

You can customize this process to fit your needs.
Maybe you want to restore only the location of your accessories, or their names.

As some steps require other steps, changing one step may also enable or disable other steps.

Restore steps (2/2)

The ‘add missing scenes and actions‘ step will recreate missing scenes. If a scene exists, it will supplement their actions.

The automation steps are a bit different. If an automation already exists, it will get deleted. Afterwards its being recreated with the backup informations.

This is due to their complexity. The algorithms cannot detect if a condition or start event should be replaced or added, because they cannot be identified uniquely.

Restored automations are disabled by default. This is a precaution, because a backup may contain enabled and disabled automations. Backups created with version 4.1 or newer contain this information. Older backups will default to a disabled state.

You can enable the ‘restore enabled state‘ step.
Please check all your automations afterwards, whether the right ones are enabled.
This may save electricity, water and frustration, depending on your setup.

Restore in progress

If you are convinced of your step selection, use the restore button in the navigation bar to start the process.

Do not close the app.

The single steps should execute quite quickly. Depending on the size of your setup and your iDevice performance they may take some seconds more. However sometimes HomeKit has some technical hiccups when doing many changes in a short time. If a step is running for minutes, it may got stuck. Close the app and retry the process or use the selective restore.

Backup restored

After the process is finished the view will close automatically.

The algorithms will recalculate the differences and the symbols will show you whether all parts were restored.

Again, due to those technical hiccups there may be some elements that are incomplete. However you can easily find them by browsing your backup and using the specific restore actions.